Clicky

Can I restore deleted data?

Absolutely! These things happen, and they definitely used to ruin your day. You’ll be able to restore any data that was deleted within the last 30 days.

Recovering a deleted project
If it is a project that was deleted, any of your admins will see a new link on the sidebar of the dashboard:

Clicking that link will take them to a page showing all recently deleted projects, including when they were deleted, and who deleted them:

To recover any of those projects, simply click the corresponding “restore” link, and you’ll be back in business!

Recovering a deleted data within a project
Similarly, within any project, there is a link at the bottom of each page visible to any admin:

Following that link will take you to a page listing all data recently deleted from that project, again with when it was deleted and who deleted it:

Clicking the restore link there will let you recover any of that data as well.

The deleted data is only retained for a short time (no more than 30 days). While it’s deleted, those files won’t count towards your data storage limit. Hopefully this will reduce heartburn when someone accidentally deletes that crucial message or mock up!

How_did_we_do Help us improve our customer service: Was this article helpful? Yes or No.

Categories: Basecamp Classic, Miscellaneous, Videos

Need more help?